Match Reports

LV=CC REPORT: Leicestershire v Derbyshire

Leicestershire v Derbyshire at Grace Road, Leicester on 8 to 11 June: LV= County Championship: Division Two
By John Brown

Derbyshire made the short journey for this fixture versus Leicestershire.The home team won the toss and chose to bat first, but they must have wondered whether they had made the right decision when they slipped quickly to 11 for three in the third over.

Mark Footitt and Tony Palladino responded with some aggressive new-ball bowling. Cobb joined Eckersley and was so nearly caught at mid-off which would have made the score 17 for four, but David Wainwright was just unable to cling on to a diving effort. This pair gradually established themselves and they had added 100 together before they were both out in quick succession.  

With the score on 113 for five, Derbyshire had every reason to feel pleased with themselves, but two good stands rescued Leicestershire and helped to take them past three hundred with three batting bonus points. Footitt finished with six wickets and Palladino four.

Stephen Moore and Paul Borrington stayed together until the close, taken after nine overs with the score on twelve for no wicket. The Leicestershire seamers continued to make runs hard to come by on the second day, so it was not until the forty-fourth over that Derbyshire reached one hundred. They were at their lowest point when the score slumped to 115 for six, but Alex Hughes continued his good run of form together with Wainwright who showed his usual fighting qualities.  

Together Hughes and Wainwright put on 91, during which partnership Hughes achieved his maiden first-class fifty. He was frustrated with himself when he pulled the first ball of a new-ball spell by Wyatt straight to mid-wicket to be out for sixty.   Wainwright continued on his quiet, methodical way and, when he was joined by Derbyshire’s debutant, Tom Taylor, he showed complete confidence in his 19-year old partner’s ability. This pair concentrated mainly on defence and took Derbyshire to the close with their score on 279 for eight, a position which had looked most unlikely earlier in the day.

Taylor, who had bowled tidily enough on the first day, showed that he had a sound defence and a good temperament as he supported his partner in a manner which frustrated the Leicestershire attack. They stayed together on the third morning for another fifty minutes and took their stand to 87 for the ninth wicket, during which time Wainwright completed a thoroughly well-deserved hundred, his first for Derbyshire (188 balls with twelve fours). When Taylor was last out for a most creditable forty, Derbyshire had established a small but significant lead of twenty-five on first innings.

Wainwright continued his special day by dismissing two early batsmen without cost to himself before lunch – 34 for two – and he followed with another in his first over after the interval. Leicestershire struggled thereafter, although O’Brien played an innings of more substance than most. Wainwright went on to take a fifth wicket, thus becoming only the third Derbyshire player to record a century and take five wickets in the same match since the war, while Footitt and Scott Elstone (on his birthday) took two wickets each.

Leicestershire’s last pair stayed until the close, with a lead of 175, with the probability that Wyatt, who had batted with a runner, would be unable to bowl on the last day.  

Leicestershire’s last wicket fell in the fourth over of the last day, thus leaving Derbyshire ninety overs in which to score 186 for victory. Stephen Moore and Paul Borrington were made to work hard before lunch, but they survived and took the score to 61 without loss from twenty-five overs before the interval.

The opening pair continued to take their partnership to 121 at which point Moore struck a long-hop to be caught at deep square-leg. Madsen joined Borrington and together they saw Derbyshire home with nine wickets and 28.1 overs to spare.

And so Derbyshire recorded their first long-awaited, much-needed, win of the season, and thus lifted themselves off the foot of the table. Derbyshire’s next championship match starts on Sunday at Derby when Surrey will be the visitors.

Leicestershire 311 (84.1 overs) (NJ O’Brien 89, BA Raine 55, JJ Cobb 50, NJH Eckersley 44, RML Taylor 40; MHA Footitt 6 for 65, AP Palladino 4 for 62) and 210 (82.2 overs) (NJ O’Brien 71; DJ Wainwright 5 for 54, MHA Footitt 3 for 57, SL Elstone 2 for 8)

Derbyshire 336 (120 overs) (DJ Wainwright 109 , AL Hughes 60, TAI Taylor 40, WL Madsen 27, MJ North 23; BA Raine 3 for 50, ACF Wyatt 3 for 61, AJ Ireland 2 for 67) and 181 for 1 (61.5 overs) (PM Borrington 86*, SC Moore 76, WL Madsen 22*)

Derbyshire (22 points) beat Leicestershire (5) by 9 wickets

Principal Partner & Ground Sponsor


Official Partners

Cricket Derbyshire E-Newsletter

Get the latest Derbyshire CCC news delivered exclusively direct to your inbox by registering for our E-Newsletter.

Click here to subscribe >>

Website Main Sponsor