Match Reports

Leicestershire v Derbyshire at Grace Road on 22 June: FLt20: North Division

On yet another foul evening, it seemed most unlikely that this match would be able to start, but the skies cleared for a while and the umpires decided that play could start at 7.35pm with the teams contesting an eight-overs per side match.

Wayne Madsen won the toss and decided to field first. Jon Clare, playing his first match this season in this competition, took a Leicestershire wicket in his first over, but the remaining batsmen played shots at every ball and finally amassed 80 runs from their eight overs.  

It seemed likely that Derbyshire would pay heavily for the three No balls bowled by their overseas Twenty20 specialist, Rana Naved-ul-Hasan. The runs conceded as a result of these three deliveries and the consequent extra balls and free hits cost the team fourteen runs.

Wes Durston set Derbyshire on their way as he hit three fours in the first over of the innings, but the next over saw two wickets fall so Derbyshire were on the back foot again. They were only able to score seventeen from the next four overs bowled by Taylor, Hoggard and Henderson with Taylor conceding only seven runs from his two overs.  

So Derbyshire needed a well-nigh impossible forty-one from their last two overs: Jon Clare hit boldly to help to take twenty off the penultimate over, but only twelve came from the last, during which two wickets fell.   Madsen hit his first ball over the wicket-keeper’s head to raise fleeting hopes that he could see his team home, but it was not to be and, at 8.52pm, Derbyshire lost by eight runs in light which would certainly have been too dark for first-class cricket to continue.  

This proved to be a disappointing and frustrating result which left Derbyshire in fifth position and Leicestershire, for whom this was their first win, in bottom place in the North Division.

Leicestershire 80 for 3 (8 overs) (GP Smith 23, JJ Cobb 17, MAG Boyce 16*; JL Clare 1 for 12)

Derbyshire 72 for 6 (8 overs) (WJ Durston 21, JL Clare 17*; Abdul Razzaq 3 for 20, RML Taylor 2 for 7)

Leicestershire (2 points) beat Derbyshire (0) by 8 runs

Principal Partner & Ground Sponsor


Official Partners

Cricket Derbyshire E-Newsletter

Get the latest Derbyshire CCC news delivered exclusively direct to your inbox by registering for our E-Newsletter.

Click here to subscribe >>

Website Main Sponsor