News Headlines

Draw sends Derbyshire top

Hamish MarshallA day of stalemate at the County Ground saw Derbyshire return to the LV= County Championship Second Division summit.

The home side’s bowlers managed just two wickets in the day, thus ensuring a second draw in succession and a point’s hall of ten, which was sufficient to leapfrog Kent at the top of the table.

New Zealand international Kane Williamson scored 128 and Hamish Marshall 90 to dampen Derbyshire’s early enthusiasm.

And, by the time Ian Cockbain scored 63 not out off 152 balls late in the day, the match was already meandering towards stalemate.

Williamson scored 128 off 272 balls prior to feathering a good one from Jonathan Clare through to wicketkeeper Tom Poynton, making the score 291-3 midway through the opening session.

But the collapse Derbyshire needed never appeared likely and Marshall, who scored 90 from 200 balls with nine fours, was the only other man to depart, lbw Tim Groenewald, at 314-4 shortly after the lunch break.

Cockbain and Will Gidman (33*) took Gloucestershire to the close with an unbroken stand of 95 as the likes of Dan Redfern, Martin Guptill, Paul Borrington and Wayne Madsen were given a rare opportunity to bowl.

Click here to view scorecard >>>

Principal Partner & Ground Sponsor


Official Partners

Cricket Derbyshire E-Newsletter

Get the latest Derbyshire CCC news delivered exclusively direct to your inbox by registering for our E-Newsletter.

Click here to subscribe >>

Website Main Sponsor