News Headlines

Derbyshire downed by Billings and Stevens at Canterbury

Youngster Sam Billings hit a superb century before Darren Stevens took 5-36 as the Kent Spitfires recorded an emphatic 111 run victory over the Derbyshire Falcons at Canterbury.

Derbyshire had earlier won the toss and elected to field first, and that decision looked a good one as Tim Groenewald (pictured) and Mark Turner accounted for Rob Key (0) and Sam Northeast (0) respectively as Kent lost early wickets.

The hosts then recovered through Billings and Stevens; the pair adding 85 runs for the third wicket before the latter was bowled by Alex Hughes for 40.

Azhar Mahmood (8) and Alex Blake (3) then fell in quick succession, both to the spin of Peter Burgoyne, before former England wicketkeeper Geraint Jones joined the impressive Billings.

The pair then took the host’s total from 123-5 to 240-5 with Billings producing an exceptional knock of 143 from just 113 deliveries, including 17 fours and a six.

Billings’ effort was ended in the final over, bowled Turner, as Kent posted 248-6 from their 40 overs with Jones finishing unbeaten on 41.

For Derbyshire, both Burgoyne and Groenewald finished with two wickets apiece.

Derbyshire’s reply got off to a shaky start with Usman Khawaja caught at the wicket off Mark Davies for seven.

Wes Durston (15) and Chesney Hughes (25) then got starts before both fell to Davies; Derbyshire 55-3.

It was then the Darren Stevens show as the former Leicestershire man ripped through Derbyshire’s middle and lower order as, despite 32 from captain Wayne Madsen, an incredible purple patch from the all-rounder saw the visitors slump from 55-3 to 109-9.

Burgoyne then capped an impressive day from a personal perspective with a late unbeaten 24 from 20 balls, however when Turner was stumped off Tredwell for seven, Derbyshire were all out for 137 in the 32nd over; Kent emerging victorious by 111 runs.

Derbyshire’s attentions now turn to an important trip to Headingley for an LV=County Championship clash with promotion rivals Yorkshire on Wednesday.

Click here for Scorecard >>

Kent Spitfires: Key (c), Billings, Northeast, Blake, Stevens, Jones (wk), Mahmood, Tredwell, Cook, Davies, Riley.

Derbyshire Falcons: Madsen (c), C. Hughes, Khawaja, Durston, Redfern, Whiteley, Poynton (wk), Burgoyne, A. Hughes, Groenewald, Turner.

Principal Partner & Ground Sponsor


Official Partners

Cricket Derbyshire E-Newsletter

Get the latest Derbyshire CCC news delivered exclusively direct to your inbox by registering for our E-Newsletter.

Click here to subscribe >>

Website Main Sponsor