News Headlines

LV=CC: Kent v Derbyshire - Live Scorecard and Preview

Kent have won the toss and will bat first at Canterbury on Day One of Derbyshire's penultimate LV=County Championship match of the season.

Derbyshire: Wayne Madsen (c), Paul Borrington, Usman Khawaja, Wes Durston, Dan Redfern, Ross Whiteley, David Wainwright, Tom Poynton (wk), Tony Palladino, Tim Groenewald, Mark Turner. 

Click here for Live Scorecard >>

Derbyshire travel to Canterbury for the penultimate match of the LV=County Championship campaign tomorrow knowing full well that a win will secure promotion to Division One.

However there will be no complacency in the Derbyshire ranks, with a strong Kent side having their own designs on top tier status come 2013.

The side will go into the game with a blend of youth and experience, with the likes of former England duo Rob Key and Geraint Jones, in-form all-rounder Darren Stevens, Mike Powell and Charlie Shreck complimented with exciting prospects such as Sam Northeast, Alex Blake and the fast-emerging Matt Coles.

Following a draw last week against Essex at the County Ground, Derbyshire remain top of the division with 169 points from the 14 games played; a 19, 23 and 25 point advantage over fellow challengers Yorkshire, Kent and Hampshire respectively.

Kent’s comprehensive fourth day victory at Grace Road last week has reinforced the county’s aspirations for promotion; having emerged victorious by 147 runs having impressively dismissed Leicestershire for 135 to win the game.

Just over a month ago, the corresponding fixture at the County Ground saw Derbyshire edge out tomorrow’s opponents by just two wickets on the final day; a thriller that could have gone either way, only for a spirited batting display to see the hosts home.

Supporters will be able to follow a Live Scorecard here tomorrow and throughout the match, as well as regular updates through the club’s Twitter account; which is also available on the homepage of the website.

Derbyshire squad to face Kent: Wayne Madsen (c), Paul Borrington, Usman Khawaja, Wes Durston, Dan Redfern, Ross Whiteley, Alex Hughes, David Wainwright, Peter Burgoyne, Tom Poynton (wk), Tony Palladino, Tim Groenewald, Mark Turner.

Principal Partner & Ground Sponsor


Official Partners

Cricket Derbyshire E-Newsletter

Get the latest Derbyshire CCC news delivered exclusively direct to your inbox by registering for our E-Newsletter.

Click here to subscribe >>

Website Main Sponsor