News Headlines

Winners Re-united: by David Griffin

B&HWinnersThe 1993 Benson and Hedges Cup-winning Derbyshire team was re-united at the County Ground on Thursday in front of 150 members and supporters.

Derbyshire Cricket Society hosted the successful event in the Gateway Centre in association with the County Club to mark the 20th anniversary of the trophy.

Eight of the 11 players who trod the famous Lord’s turf on 10th July 1993 and defeated the highly-fancied Lancashire team were present; Chris Adams, Peter Bowler, Frank Griffith, Karl Krikken, Devon Malcolm, Ole Mortensen, Tim O’Gorman and Allan Warner. Dominic Cork was unavailable owing to work commitments.

Also present were former Derbyshire batsman, Alan Hill, who was the acting Chief Executive in 1993, Ann Brentnall, the physiotherapist, and other former players Bernie Maher and Matthew Vandrau.

Chris Middleton, the Chairman in 1993, also attended as did Gerald Mortimer who covered the game for the Derby Evening Telegraph.

A video of the final played throughout the luncheon allowing everyone to re-live that magical day in the Club’s history.

The majority of the players spoke about their memories of the day, and Peter Bowler struck a chord when he congratulated the side of 2012, nine of whom were present at the event, on their LV= County Championship Division 2 triumph and urged them to seize the moment during the coming season and beyond.

Mortimer spoke amusingly about his experiences covering the side before Honorary Secretary, David Griffin, announced the award of an Honorary Life Membership to the man who bowled the final, decisive over at Lord’s in 1993, Frank Griffith.


Principal Partner & Ground Sponsor


Official Partners

Cricket Derbyshire E-Newsletter

Get the latest Derbyshire CCC news delivered exclusively direct to your inbox by registering for our E-Newsletter.

Click here to subscribe >>

Website Main Sponsor