News Headlines

Derbyshire Members rubber-stamp governance change

AGMDerbyshire County Cricket Club is welcoming a new era of corporate governance after crucial proposals for reform gained 96% of the Members’ Vote.

Following a month of voting, the result of the ballot on comprehensive changes including a skilled Supervisory Board of six was announced at a Special General Meeting (SGM) on Wednesday 27th March 2013. The proposal, which required a 66% majority, received 614 votes in favour with just 26 against.

As a result, the previous 15-person committee has been disbanded in favour of a Supervisory Board of six and the offices of Honorary Secretary, Honorary Treasurer and Vice-Chairman are deleted.

A new set of Club Rules have been approved which incorporate specific roles, responsibilities and experience for those serving on the Board.

The new Board members, to be known as Directors, are as follows;

  • Business Development Director               David Booth
  • Cricket Advisory Director                        Kevin Dean
  • Facilities Management Director                Sir John Gains
  • Finance Director                                   Christopher Grant
  • Administration Director                          David Griffin
  • Legal Services Director                          Robert Tice

The Supervisory Board has been elected for a two-year period, with elections to the Board beginning in February 2015. Immediately following the SGM, the new Board met and Chris Grant was re-elected as Chairman for two years.  

Chairman Chris Grant said: “I am clearly delighted with the overwhelming vote in favour of the changes we proposed.

“The magnitude of the Yes vote provides a ringing endorsement of a desire to take Derbyshire County Cricket Club forward on behalf of its Members.

“It is now the job of me as Chairman and that of the newly elected Supervisory Board to deliver the vision we have set out.

“This starts with securing the £1m of ECB funding for ground development for which, ahead of this Special Resolution result, a considerable amount of work has already been done to give us the best possible chance of success.

“We have also progressed discussions with Derby City Council and received total support from Council Leader Paul Bayliss and his team in this regard.

“With an exciting season of Division One cricket ahead and our players raring to go, Derbyshire County Cricket Club is in a very good place.”

Derbyshire Chief Executive Simon Storey added: “Our new Supervisory Board carries a wealth of knowledge and experience to take the Club forward on all fronts.

“This is a significant moment in the history of the Club and it allows us to press forward with our six point strategy aimed at delivering cricketing success supported by long-term business sustainability and financial security.

“This result, in particular, brings our vision for a £2.5 million ground development a step closer as we aim to improve our facilities for the benefit of members, supporters and corporate customers, as well as providing greater access for community use and increased flexibility for non-cricket events.”

Although rendered irrelevant by the result of the SGM ballot earlier in the evening, David Griffin and Malcolm Nicholas were re-elected unopposed to the posts of Honorary Secretary and Honorary Treasurer respectively. Trevor Island, Phil Kirby, Chris Middleton and Edward Wilkinson were elected to the General Committee minutes before it was disbanded.

Principal Partner & Ground Sponsor


Official Partners

Cricket Derbyshire E-Newsletter

Get the latest Derbyshire CCC news delivered exclusively direct to your inbox by registering for our E-Newsletter.

Click here to subscribe >>

Website Main Sponsor