News Headlines

Derbyshire Falcons v Durham Dynamos: Team News

chessgordonlambKarl Krikken has named a 15-man squad for the match versus Durham Dynamos at Chesterfiel this afternoon which starts at 2.30pm.

Richard Johnson, Peter Burgoyne, Tom Knight, Alex Hughes and Mark Footitt are all in contention for recalls following the six-run defeat to Yorkshire Vikings a week ago.

South African international, Albie Morkel, faces his former team mates having starred with 4 for 25 and 51 off 31 balls last time out against the Yorkshire Vikings.

Alex Hughes could be in line for a first start since his man of the match performance in the Yorkshire Bank 40 victory over Essex, shortly after which he sustained a groin injury.

Hughes smashed 59 off 36 balls and took 3 for 56 in the match against the Eagles. He has made 11 List A and four Twenty20 appearances in his career to date, guiding Derbyshire to victory over Yorkshire with an unbeaten 37 on his most recent visit to Queen’s Park.

If Richard Johnson is selected, he will make his Twenty20 debut for Derbyshire having played 18 matches for Warwickshire during the previous five campaigns.

Captain Wayne Madsen is fresh from an LV= County Championship century versus Yorkshire. Tom Poynton is likely to keep the gloves following his explosive knock of 63 off 37 balls in the same match.

Mark Turner has taken a combined haul of seven wickets during Derbyshire’s previous two Twenty20 matches. He is hoping for more of the same versus the club with which he began his career back in 2005.

Shivnarine Chanderpaul remains on the sidelines with a hamstring injury.

The squad in full is as follows:

Wayne Madsen, Chesney Hughes, Wes Durston, Dan Redfern, Billy Godleman, Albie Morkel, Alex Hughes,  Richard Johnson, Peter Burgoyne, Tom Poynton, David Wainwright, Tim Groenewald, Mark Turner, Tom Knight and Mark Footitt.

The Dynamos, meanwhile, kept their hopes of a quarter-final place alive with victory over Nottinghamshire at Trent Bridge on Friday; a match in which England all-rounder Ben Stokes smashed 72 off 48 balls.

Phil Mustard, Scott Borthwick, Paul Collingwood, Gareth Breese and Graham Onions add further full international calibre to the Dynamos’ ranks.

The Durham squad in full is as follows:

Mark Stoneman, Phil Mustard, Scott Borthwick, Paul Collingwood, Ben Stokes, Gordon Muchall, Will Smith, Gareth Breese, Ryan Pringle, Chris Rushworth, Michael Richardson, Usman Arshad,Graham Onions

Tickets are available on the gate priced at £16 adults, £5 juniors and £5 car parking.



Principal Partner & Ground Sponsor


Official Partners

Cricket Derbyshire E-Newsletter

Get the latest Derbyshire CCC news delivered exclusively direct to your inbox by registering for our E-Newsletter.

Click here to subscribe >>

Website Main Sponsor