News Headlines

Madsen handed Cricket Writers' Championship Player of the Year

WayneMadsenDerbyshire Captain Wayne Madsen has been named the 2013 Cricket Writers' Club County Championship Player of the Year, sponsored by William Hill.

Madsen scored 1,221 LV= County Championship Division One runs this season - a tally exceeded only by Yorkshire's Gary Ballance - at 43.60 in 16 matches with three hundreds and eight fifties; leading his side to three victories in the county's first season back in the top flight for over a decade.

The 29-year-old was the first player to score 1,000 Championship runs when he reached that landmark on Tuesday 20th August against Middlesex at the County Ground, Derby - with his highest score the 152 he made against Surrey in May.

This is the second individual honour Madsen has won this season after he became the inaugural winner of the BBC/MCC Christopher Martin-Jenkins Spirit of Cricket Elite Award, named after the respected journalist who was President of the Cricket Writers' Club at the time of his passing, for "exceptional sportsmanship" in a County Championship match against Yorkshire at Queen's Park, Chesterfield, during the Hill Dickinson Chesterfield Festival of Cricket. 

The County Championship Cricketer of the Year award, in common with the Young Cricketer, is voted for by the Full Members of the Cricket Writers' Club, which represents the overwhelming majority of those working in England covering the sport be they journalists, photographers or broadcasters.

The award will be presented to Madsen at the Cricket Writers' Club Annual Lunch at London's Plaisterers' Hall on Monday 30th September. 

Principal Partner & Ground Sponsor


Official Partners

Cricket Derbyshire E-Newsletter

Get the latest Derbyshire CCC news delivered exclusively direct to your inbox by registering for our E-Newsletter.

Click here to subscribe >>

Website Main Sponsor