News Headlines

PREVIEW: Welch names squad to face Rapids

#DERvWORDerbyshire Falcons continue their NatWest T20 Blast campaign against Worcestershire Rapids on Friday 13 June at The 3aaa County Ground; 7pm start. 

Wayne Madsen’s men are aiming to bounceback from last week’s defeat to Nottinghamshire and enter the fixture full of confidence after securing their first four-day win of the season against Leicestershire at Grace Road this week.

Madsen said: “There were some encouraging signs and we are playing good cricket in patches, but we must put this all together and start getting results.

“We still have nine matches in the competition and if we can get some momentum, you never know what could happen. 

“We’re all working hard and are determined to get our campaign off the ground on Friday against Worcestershire. They have had a very good start to the competition, but if we perform as we know we can, we’re confident we can get the win.”

Graeme Welch has added Greg Cork to a 12-man matchday squad, while Tom Taylor, Tim Groenewald and Mark Footitt miss out.

Live band, The Fentones, will also be playing instantly recognisably catchy tunes before and immediately after the match in the Marquee for supporters to enjoy.

Worcestershire Rapids visit The 3aaa County Ground for a Twenty20 encounter for the first time since 2011 tomorrow evening.  

The Rapids, who sit top of the North Division, will have Pakistan international spinner Saeed Ajmal at their disposal, while former Derbyshire all-rounder Ross Whiteley, who was Man of the Match last time out against Durham, is also likely to feature for Daryl Mitchell’s side.

Worcestershire have also signed New Zealand Twenty20 international Colin Munro for this season’s NatWest T20 Blast campaign.   

The Rapids have won the last four T20 fixtures, defeating Durham by five wickets with just two balls to spare last week, a day after beating Leicestershire by five wickets with four balls to spare.

Graeme Welch has added Greg Cork to a 12-man matchday squad to face Worcestershire, while Tom Taylor, Tim Groenewald and Mark Footitt miss out.

Mark Turner, Matt Higginbottom, Tony Palladino and Cork make up Derbyshire’s seam bowling options for the Friday night's fixture, and Higginbottom and Cork could both make their T20 debuts for Derbyshire. 

Shivnarine Chanderpaul, meanwhile, is still unavailable due to his international commitments with the West Indies, but former Australia Test batsman Marcus North will feature for Wayne Madsen's side.

Derbyshire’s 12-man squad in full as follows;

Stephen Moore (2)                     Wes Durston (3)                         
Marcus North (8)                        Wayne Madsen (77)                  
Scott Elstone (10)                       Alex Hughes (18)                      
Tom Knight (27)                          Gareth Cross (7)                       
Tony Palladino (28)                    Matt Higginbottom (20)              
Greg Cork (14)                           Mark Turner (6)

Worcestershire’s 12-man squad in full as follows; 

Daryl Mitchell, Richard Oliver, Tom Kohler-Cadmore, Colin Munro, Alexei Kervezee, Ross Whiteley, Ben Cox, Brett D'Oliveira, Jack Shantry, Saeed Ajmal, Chris Russell and Gareth Andrew

Supports can save £4 if they purchase their matchday tickets in advance. The price of tickets in advance is £14 adults, £4 juniors or £32 for a family of four.

Further discounts are available for groups of 10+. On-site car parking, when purchased in advance, is priced at £4.

Tickets are available 24 hours-a-day online at or call the Ticket Hotline, 9am to 7pm Monday to Friday, on 0871 350 1870.

Supporters are reminded that this is an all-ticket fixture and that Members must claim their match ticket in advance to ensure entry.

Click here to buy tickets>>

Supporters, #tweetfromyourseat during the NatWest T20 Blast fixture and the best pictures will be featured on our website. Capture the moment and share it with @DerbyshireCCC, just like these guys did...


Can’t make it to The 3aaa County Ground? Don’t worry, you can follow live updates on Twitter (@DerbyshireCCC) by using the #DERvWOR hashtag, plus regular updates will be available on Facebook throughout the day. 

Supporters can also listen to live ball-by-ball commentary with BBC Radio Derby online or on BBC Live Event TBC on the Tune-in App for iPad, iPhone and Android. Click here>>

Principal Partner & Ground Sponsor


Official Partners

Cricket Derbyshire E-Newsletter

Get the latest Derbyshire CCC news delivered exclusively direct to your inbox by registering for our E-Newsletter.

Click here to subscribe >>

Website Main Sponsor