News Headlines

PREVIEW: Derbyshire return to four-day action with trip to Cheltenham

#GLOvDERAfter the conclusion of the Old Speckled Hen Chesterfield Festival of Cricket, in association with Chesterfield Borough Council, Derbyshire face Gloucestershire in the LV= County Championship at Cheltenham, starting today (Monday 14 July) at 11am.

Derbyshire make one change to their matchday squad with the inclusion of opening batsman Billy Godleman. Wayne Madsen’s side will also be boosted by the inclusion of West Indies international Shivnarine Chanderpaul after he returned to the squad last week and scored 92 against Essex at Queen’s Park.

Gloucestershire have blend of experience and youth in their squad and will be able to call upon former New Zealand international Hamish Marshall and Alex Gidman for the game against Derbyshire.

Gloucestershire currently sit one place above Derbyshire in seventh place having played a game more than Graeme Welch’s men.

Will Tavare scored a century in their loss to Hampshire last time out, before Alex Gidman and Hamish Marshall scored 72 and 94 respectively in the second innings.

Spinner Tom Smith has been in good form for Gloucestershire this season, ably assisted by medium pacer Will Gidman who has 38 Division Two wickets to his name in 2014.

Opening batsman Billy Godleman returns to the four-day side to face Gloucestershire at Cheltenham this week; starting on Monday 14 July.

Godleman returns to the side after hitting back-to-back half centuries against India at The 3aaa County Ground earlier this month and 39 off 24 balls in the NatWest T20 Blast defeat to Northamptonshire on Friday.

Shivnarine Chanderpaul is once again available after scoring 92 in the match against Essex last week, his first since returning from International duty with the West Indies.

Wes Durston is fit to play despite being forced to retire hurt on 74 against Essex last week after taking a blow to the helmet.

Derbyshire squad in full is as follows:

Billy Godleman (1)                            Ben Slater (26)
Wayne Madsen (77)                         Shivnarine Chanderpaul (11)
Wes Durston (3)                              Scott Elstone (10)                              
Alex Hughes (18)                             Gareth Cross (7)                                
Tony Palladino (28)                           David Wainwright (21)                       
Tom Taylor (16)                               Mark Footitt (4)                                  


You can follow live updates on Twitter (@DerbyshireCCC) by using the #GLOvDER hashtag, plus regular updates will be available on Facebook throughout the day. 

Supporters can also listen to live ball-by-ball commentary with BBC Radio Derby online or on BBC Live Event (TBC) on the Tune-in App for iPad, iPhone and Android. 

Principal Partner & Ground Sponsor


Official Partners

Cricket Derbyshire E-Newsletter

Get the latest Derbyshire CCC news delivered exclusively direct to your inbox by registering for our E-Newsletter.

Click here to subscribe >>

Website Main Sponsor