News Headlines

2012 Annual Report and 2013 Year Book

TCGMontageThe 2012 Annual Report and 2013 Year Book is being distributed to the Club’s 2012 Membership this week.

The 32 page publication contains details of every game of the 2012 LV= County Championship season as well as details of the forthcoming Annual General Meeting and Special General Meeting.

The new 32 page format represents a reduction from the 64 page publication of the previous year after the Club took the decision not to include the section of historical records; content that will be published online in due course.

The Club acknowledges that some members will be disappointed with the new slim-line format.  

However, a primary objective within the Club’s recently released Strategic Plan was to create a sustainable future for Derbyshire County Cricket Club in Division One of the LV= County Championship.

In 2012, Derbyshire’s playing budget was the lowest of all First Class Counties. Heading into Division One, it was vital to make some careful additions to the squad; securing key players on three year contracts, signing two former England U19 players – Billy Godleman and Richard Johnson - and sending waves around the cricketing world by signing the World’s number two test batsman, Shivnarine Chanderpaul.

Strengthening the side requires investment and the Chairman has publically acknowledged that the Club must raise an additional £250,000 of revenue in 2013. Faced with the need to invest in the team for the future and with a clear remit to minimise costs, the Club has taken some tough decisions.

The new Year Book format, combined with similar additional savings in many other areas, has directly enabled the Club to invest in the team as the Club aims to fly the flag for Derbyshire with pride in the top tier of English cricket. The savings made on this product alone, which amount to several thousand pounds, will fund almost entirely an enhanced summer contract for an upcoming young professional; the same type of contract that retained the likes of current first team squad members Paul Borrington, Peter Burgoyne, Jonathan Clare, Alex Hughes, Chesney Hughes, Tom Knight, Tom Poynton, Dan Redfern and Ross Whiteley during their formative years with the Club.

Commenting on the new look publication, Chief Executive Simon Storey, said: “Any change in Year Book format is always a difficult call. However, we believe that we have a responsibility to do everything possible to provide a competitive team representing the county of Derbyshire in Division One.

“With the introduction of online cricket stats, we saw an opportunity to refine the Year Book and we are investing all savings into the playing side to provide us with a greater chance of success.

"Whilst we appreciate some members will be disappointed, I am sure they will understand that every decision we take is made in the interests of bringing long-term and sustainable success to Derbyshire.”

Principal Partner & Ground Sponsor


Official Partners

Cricket Derbyshire E-Newsletter

Get the latest Derbyshire CCC news delivered exclusively direct to your inbox by registering for our E-Newsletter.

Click here to subscribe >>

Website Main Sponsor